Law Colleges in Jharkhand

29 law institutions in Jharkhand hold a current approval from BCI. They are spread across 11 districts, with the largest concentration in Ranchi (12). Between them they list 12 approved courses. Their listed courses carry a total approved intake of 8,920 seats. The largest by intake are Sai Nath University (1,140), Aisect University (1,020), Usha Martin University (790).

As published by BCI. Checked 20 September 2026.

Statistics for this listing
Where these institutions are
Ranchi12East Singhbum3Dhanbad2Hazaribagh2Koderma2Bokaro1Deoghar1Dumka1Giridih1Palamu1

Top 10 districts by number of approved institutions.

Who runs them
Unknown19Private6State University4
  • Unknown: 19
  • Private: 6
  • State University: 4

Ownership as classified by the approving body.

What they are approved to teach
LL.B (3 year)19BBA LL.B (5…10B.A. LL.B (5…9B.A. LL.B (5…8LL.B (3 year) (H…7BBA LL.B (5 year)5MINING3MECHANICAL3
  • LL.B (3 year): 19
  • BBA LL.B (5 year) (Hons): 10
  • B.A. LL.B (5 year) (Hons): 9
  • B.A. LL.B (5 year): 8
  • LL.B (3 year) (Hons): 7
  • BBA LL.B (5 year): 5
  • MINING: 3
  • MECHANICAL: 3

Institutions approved for each course. One institution may be approved for several.

  • Aisect University

    Ownership: State UniversityHazaribagh, Jharkhand

    Diploma·MBA /PGDM·MCA·BBA·BCA·LL.B

    Details
    AddressVill-jonhiya, P.o- Daru, Thana-daru
    DistrictHazaribagh
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipState University
    AffiliationAISECT UNIVERSITY,BHOPAL
    Approved byAICTE, BCI
    AISHE codeU-0850
    AICTE ID1-46209015159
    Courses & intake (10)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Computer ApplicationsMCAMCA60AICTE approved
    Computer ApplicationsBCABCA240AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaCivil Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaComputer Science and Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaElectrical Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMechanical Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMining Engineering60AICTE approved
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    ManagementMBA /PGDMMBA60AICTE approved
    ManagementBBABBA240AICTE approved
    Total intake1,020
    Official site
  • AMITY University, Jharkhand

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationAMITY UNIVERSITY, RANCHI -2018
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-0875
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake360
    Official site
  • Bhishma Narain Singh Law College

    Ownership: PrivatePalamu, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictPalamu
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationNilamber-Pitamber University, Palamu
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeC-55026
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2024-25
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2024-25
    Total intake240
    Official site
  • Capital University

    Koderma, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictKoderma
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationCAPITAL UNIVERSITY, CHITRAGUPT NAGAR, KODERMA
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-1060
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Official site
  • Chotanagpur Law College

    Ownership: PrivateRanchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationRanchi University, Ranchi
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeC-15065
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)240BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake360
    Official site
  • Cooperative Law College, Jamshedpur

    East Singhbum, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictEast Singhbum
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationKOLHAN UNIVERSITY CHAIBASA
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2022-23
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27. Earlier: Approved upto 2025-26
    Total intake180
  • Deoghar Law College, Deoghar

    Deoghar, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictDeoghar
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationSIDDHU KANHU MURMU UNIVERSITY DUMKA
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)not statedBCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2017-18
  • Department of Law, Babu Dinesh Singh University

    Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationBABU DINESH SINGH UNIVERSITY, FARATHIYA, P. O. HOOR, P.S. & DIST GARHWA, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake240
  • Faculty of Law, ICFAI University

    Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationICFAI UNIVERSITY
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26
    Total intake180
  • Faculty of Law, ICFAI University, Ranchi

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationICFAI UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26. Earlier: Approved upto 2023-24
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26. Earlier: Approved upto 2024-25, Approved upto 2024-25
    Total intake240
  • Faculty of Law, Radhe Govind University, Ramgarh, Jharkhand (earlier it was under Vinoba Bhave University, Hazari Bagh)

    Ramgarh, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRamgarh
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationRADHA GOVIND UNIVERSITY, RAMGARH, JHARKHAND - 2019
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
  • Imamul Hai Khan Law College, Bokaro

    Ownership: PrivateBokaro, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictBokaro
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationBINOD BIHARI MAHTO KOYALANCHAL UNIVERSITY
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeC-44417
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)180BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake300
    Official site
  • Jharkhand Rai University

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    D.Pharm·B.Pharm·LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationJHARKHAND RAI UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI, PCI
    AISHE codeU-0762
    PCI code3613
    Courses & intake (5)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2021-22
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2022-23
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2022-23
    PharmacyD.PharmD-Pharm60PCI approved u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    PharmacyB.PharmB-Pharm100Conduct only — not u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    Total intake400
    Official site
  • Jharkhand Vidhi Mahavidyalaya, Koderma

    Koderma, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictKoderma
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationVINOBA BHAVE UNIVERSITY, HAZARI BAGH
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)300BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26
    Total intake540
  • K N Bakshi College of Education

    Ownership: PrivateGiridih, Jharkhand

    Diploma·LL.B·UG

    Details
    AddressPlot No.460/1 & 441/549, Vill.–karmatand, Po. – Bengabad, Tehsil/taluka – Bengabad, Town/city – Giridih, Dist. – Giridih, Jharkhand – 815312
    DistrictGiridih
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationVinoba Bhave University, Hazaribagh
    Approved byBCI, NCTE
    AISHE codeC-55468
    Courses & intake (4)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Teacher EducationDiplomaD.el.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 02-05-2016
    Teacher EducationUGB.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Revised Recognition, 29-05-2015. Latest of 2 recognition orders; earlier: 100 seats 14-08-2013
    Total intake380
    Official site
  • Law College, Dhanbad

    Ownership: PrivateDhanbad, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictDhanbad
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationBINOD BIHARI MAHTO KOYALANCHAL UNIVERSITY
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeC-44451
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)240BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake360
    Official site
  • National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationNATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF STUDY AND RESEARCH IN LAW, RANCHI
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-0600
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2024-25
    Total intake360
    Official site
  • Netaji Subhas Institute of Law, Netaji Subhash University, Jamshedpur

    East Singhbum, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictEast Singhbum
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationNETAJI SUBHASH UNIVERSITY, JAMSHEDPUR
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake180
  • Ram Krishna Dharmarth Foundation (RKDF) University

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationRAM KRISHNA DHARMARTH FOUNDATION (RKDF) UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-1063
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake180
    Official site
  • S. P. Law College, Dumka

    Dumka, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictDumka
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationSIDDHU KANHU MURMU UNIVERSITY DUMKA
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2017-18
  • Sai Nath University

    Ownership: State UniversityRanchi, Jharkhand

    Diploma·Integrated·PG·LL.B·UG

    Details
    Address876, Jirawar, Chandway - Kuchu Road, Ormanjhi
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipState University
    AffiliationJharkhand Academic Council
    Approved byAICTE, BCI, NCTE
    AISHE codeU-0820
    AICTE ID1-46210893369
    Courses & intake (15)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaCivil Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaCivil Engineering(Construction Technology)60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaElectrical Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMechanical Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMining Engineering60AICTE approved
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Teacher EducationDiplomaD.el.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 03-03-2018
    Teacher EducationDiplomaD.p.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 27-04-2016
    Teacher EducationIntegratedB.a. B.ed./B.sc. B.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 27-04-2016
    Teacher EducationPGB.ed. M.ed (3 Year Integrated)50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 02-05-2016
    Teacher EducationPGM.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 02-05-2016
    Teacher EducationUGB.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 27-04-2016
    Teacher EducationUGB.p.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 27-04-2016
    Teacher EducationUnknownUnspecifiednot statedNCTE approvedsource records approval upto Recognition
    Total stated intake (14 of 15 courses)1,140
    Official site
  • Sarala Birla University

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationSARALA BIRLA UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-0986
    Courses & intake (4)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BB.com Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake360
    Official site
  • School of Law, Arka Jain University, Jamshedpur

    East Singhbum, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictEast Singhbum
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationARKA JAIN UNIVERSITY, JAMSHEDPUR - 2020
    Approved byBCI
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year) (Hons)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27. Earlier: Approved upto 2021-22
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year) (Hons)not statedBCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
  • Usha Martin University

    Ownership: State UniversityRanchi, Jharkhand

    Diploma·D.Pharm·B.Pharm·LL.B

    Details
    AddressAt Village Narayansoso, Near Block Office Ranchi - Purulia Road, Highway, Angara
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipState University
    AffiliationUSHA MARTIN UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byAICTE, BCI, PCI
    AISHE codeU-0902
    AICTE ID1-46209039509
    PCI code3628
    Courses & intake (9)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaCivil Engineering60AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaComputer Science and Engineering120AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaElectrical and Electronics Engineering90AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMechanical Engineering90AICTE approved
    Engineering & TechnologyDiplomaMining Engineering90AICTE approved
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2025-26
    PharmacyD.PharmD-Pharm60PCI approved u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    PharmacyB.PharmB-Pharm100Conduct only — not u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    Total intake790
    Official site
  • Vinoba Bhave University

    Ownership: State UniversityHazaribagh, Jharkhand

    Integrated·PG·LL.B

    Details
    AddressPlot No.- 54-57,61,62, Vill-sindor, Po-reformatory School, Tehsil/taluka/town/city-hazaribag, Dhist-hazaribag, Jharkhand-825301
    DistrictHazaribagh
    StateJharkhand
    OwnershipState University
    AffiliationVinoba Bhave University
    Approved byBCI, NCTE
    Courses & intake (5)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BB.a. Ll.b (5 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)120BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Teacher EducationIntegratedB.a. B.ed./B.sc. B.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 03-03-2018
    Teacher EducationPGM.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Restoration/Continuation, 02-09-2021. Latest of 4 recognition orders; earlier: 50 seats 05-10-2020, 50 seats 31-05-2015, 25 seats 31-08-2009
    Teacher EducationUnknownUnspecifiednot statedNCTE approvedsource records approval upto Recognition
    Total stated intake (4 of 5 courses)390
    Official site
  • YBN University

    Ranchi, Jharkhand

    LL.B

    Details
    DistrictRanchi
    StateJharkhand
    AffiliationYBN UNIVERSITY, RANCHI, JHARKHAND
    Approved byBCI
    AISHE codeU-0930
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    LawLL.BBBA Ll.b (5 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    LawLL.BLl.b (3 Year)60BCI approvedsource records approval upto Approved upto 2026-27
    Total intake120
    Official site

Frequently asked questions

How many law colleges are there in Jharkhand?

29 law institutions in Jharkhand hold a current approval from BCI. As published by BCI. Checked 20 September 2026.

Where can I find the full list of BCI-approved law colleges in Jharkhand?

This page is that list. Every institution shown holds a current approval from BCI, with its district and approved courses. Applications are made on each institution's own website, not here.

How many seats do law colleges in Jharkhand have?

8,920 approved seats across 28 institutions, as published by the regulator. Intake is counted only where the approving body states it.

Which district in Jharkhand has the most law colleges?

Ranchi, with 12 of the 29 institutions listed here.

What courses do law colleges in Jharkhand offer?

The most widely approved are LL.B (3 year) (19), BBA LL.B (5 year) (Hons) (10), B.A. LL.B (5 year) (Hons) (9), B.A. LL.B (5 year) (8), LL.B (3 year) (Hons) (7), BBA LL.B (5 year) (5). Each figure is the number of institutions approved for that course.

How many law colleges in Jharkhand are government and how many are private?

Of the 29 institutions listed: 19 unknown, 6 private, 4 state university. Ownership is taken from the regulator's own classification.

Where does this list come from?

As published by BCI. Checked 20 September 2026. This screener publishes only what the approving body publishes, and shows when each list was last checked. It does not rank institutions or estimate fees. Applications are made on each institution's own website.