Teacher training Colleges in Sikkim

6 teacher training institutions in Sikkim hold a current approval from NCTE. They are spread across 4 districts, with the largest concentration in Gangtok (2). Between them they list 6 approved courses. Their listed courses carry a total approved intake of 670 seats. The largest by intake are District Institute Of Education And Training (150), Harkamaya College of Education (150), Sikkim Govt. B.Ed. College (150).

NCTE approved institutions, recognised institutions list. Checked 18 September 2026.

  • Carmel Teacher Training Institute East Sikkim

    Ownership: PrivateGangtok, Sikkim

    Diploma

    Details
    AddressPakyong, East Sikkim, Sikkim – 737106
    DistrictGangtok
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationState Institute of Education
    Approved byNCTE
    AISHE codeS-7669
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Teacher EducationDiplomaD.el.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Revised Recognition, 03-09-2019. Latest of 2 recognition orders; earlier: 40 seats 12-02-1997
    Official site
  • District Institute Of Education And Training

    Ownership: GovernmentNamchi, Sikkim

    Diploma·UG

    Details
    AddressBemetara, Durg-491335.
    DistrictNamchi
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipGovernment
    AffiliationCG Secondary Board Of Education Address : Pension Bada, Raipur- 492001
    Approved byNCTE
    AISHE codeS-16207
    Courses & intake (4)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Teacher EducationDiplomaD.el.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 17-11-2020
    Teacher EducationUGB.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 02-01-2017
    Teacher EducationUnknownDpse50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 02-05-2017
    Teacher EducationUnknownUnspecifiednot statedNCTE approvedsource records approval upto Recognition
    Total stated intake (3 of 4 courses)150
    Official site
  • Harkamaya College of Education

    Ownership: PrivateSikkim

    PG·UG

    Details
    AddressSamdur, Tadong, East-sikkim, Sikkim – 737 102
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipPrivate
    AffiliationAffiliating body changed from 'North Bengal University' to 'Sikkim University'
    Approved byNCTE
    Courses & intake (2)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Teacher EducationPGM.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Revised Recognition, 15-05-2015. Latest of 2 recognition orders; earlier: 25 seats 12-05-2005
    Teacher EducationUGB.ed100NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Revised Recognition, 15-05-2015. Latest of 2 recognition orders; earlier: 100 seats 06-02-2004
    Total intake150
    Official site
  • Mahatma Gandhi University

    Ownership: State UniversitySoreng, Sikkim

    D.Pharm·B.Pharm

    Details
    AddressSurvey No. 4064.28 Priyadarsini Hills P.o. Priyadarsini Hills Kottayam Kottayam Kerala Kottayam Pincode - 686560
    DistrictSoreng
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipState University
    Approved byNCTE, PCI
    AISHE codeU-1434
    PCI code8925
    Courses & intake (3)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    PharmacyD.PharmD-Pharm60Conduct only — not u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    PharmacyB.PharmB-Pharm60Conduct only — not u/s 12source records approval upto 2023-2024
    Teacher EducationUnknownUnspecifiednot statedNCTE approvedsource records approval upto Recognition
    Total stated intake (2 of 3 courses)120
    Official site
  • Sikkim Govt. B.Ed. College

    Ownership: GovernmentGyalshing, Sikkim

    UG

    Details
    AddressSoreng, Vill- Soreng, Street/ Road:-soreng Kaluk, Taluka/mandal:- Soreng Sub-division, Town/city:- Soreng, District: West District, Sikkim-7237121
    DistrictGyalshing
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipGovernment
    AffiliationSikkim University
    Approved byNCTE
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Teacher EducationUGB.ed150NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Restoration/Continuation, 04-12-2020. Latest of 5 recognition orders; earlier: 100 seats 21-08-2019, 150 seats 02-05-2017, 100 seats 31-05-2015
    Official site
  • Sikkim University

    Ownership: GovernmentGangtok, Sikkim

    PG

    Details
    AddressVill:- Samdur, Street/road:-nh-10, Taluka/mandal: Gangtok, Town/city:-samdur, Dist:- East District, Sikkim-737102
    DistrictGangtok
    StateSikkim
    OwnershipGovernment
    AffiliationSikkim University
    Approved byNCTE
    Courses & intake (1)
    ProgrammeLevelCourseIntakeRecognition
    Teacher EducationPGM.ed50NCTE approvedsource records approval upto Initial Recognition, 30-05-2017
    Official site

Frequently asked questions

How many teacher training colleges are there in Sikkim?

6 teacher training institutions in Sikkim hold a current approval from NCTE. NCTE approved institutions, recognised institutions list. Checked 18 September 2026.

Where can I find the full list of NCTE-approved teacher training colleges in Sikkim?

This page is that list. Every institution shown holds a current approval from NCTE, with its district and approved courses. Applications are made on each institution's own website, not here.

How many seats do teacher training colleges in Sikkim have?

670 approved seats across 6 institutions, as published by the regulator. Intake is counted only where the approving body states it.

Which district in Sikkim has the most teacher training colleges?

Gangtok, with 2 of the 6 institutions listed here.

What courses do teacher training colleges in Sikkim offer?

The most widely approved are B.Ed (3), D.El.Ed (2), M.Ed (2), b-pharm (1), d-pharm (1), DPSE (1). Each figure is the number of institutions approved for that course.

How many teacher training colleges in Sikkim are government and how many are private?

Of the 6 institutions listed: 3 government, 2 private, 1 state university. Ownership is taken from the regulator's own classification.

Where does this list come from?

NCTE approved institutions, recognised institutions list. Checked 18 September 2026. This screener publishes only what the approving body publishes, and shows when each list was last checked. It does not rank institutions or estimate fees. Applications are made on each institution's own website.